🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

sdl on ubuntu

Started by
11 comments, last by JERUKA9 4 years, 4 months ago
Hey I am a complete noob to linux. And I wanted to give it a try so I whent and installed ubuntu. Worked like a charm. Now I have gcc gotten up and running and I am able to compile projects with multiple source files. Now the thing is that I want to install SDL so I can port some of my simpler games from win to linux. How can I do this? I have downloaded the rpm packet from the libsdl.org site, but I am unable to install it. Error message:
Quote: $ sudo rpm -i SDL-devel-1.2.8-1.i386.rpm rpm: To install rpm packages on Debian systems, use alien. See README.Debian. error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - No such file or directory (2) error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
Remember that I am a noobie on linux so please "talk to me like im 3 years old"(TM).
- Me
Advertisement
you have sort of got the right idea there.. A lot of Linux distros use red hat package manager (rpm), except debian and ubuntu derivatives. They use something called .debs, alien is a program that converts .rpm into .deb (I don't understand why they don't have a program called rpm that will do it for you, and output an error message). Unfortunately I can't help you myself (use SUSE 9.2), but Here is what alien is and Was the best I could find on how to use alien. You could also try alien --help and see what it outputs.
I'd recommend you just download the SDL source code and build it yourself. It's not too hard at all. Just uncompress the source, and:

./configure
make
su <---- if you're not running as su already, you'll have to do it here
make install

Hope this helps!

Ryan
--Visit the Game Programming Wiki!