🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

My first game!

Started by
1 comment, last by halfJobBob 9 years, 8 months ago

Hi, take a look at my first game. It’s been made over the last 5 months by a friend and myself.

I’m an Industrial / Product Designer by day and an app developer by night (when my wife and kids are asleep) and my friend is a Graphic Designer.

I won’t take credit, it is based on my friends idea that actually started out as an idea for a physical toy.. However I saw it as a video game. So Laserbreak was born!

We launched this 2 weeks ago on the Play store and thus far the response has been good. Check it out if you get a chance. Love to hear your comments / feedback!

Development album

Website

Super awesome trailer (move over michael bay!)

Google Play Store Link

Advertisement

This looks good for a first game. What did you use to build it?

Some constructive feedback, I hope: maybe put a scroll indicator or down arrow on your website? Initially it just looks like a title and link on a plain background.

Secondly, your trailer doesn't make it clear what you do in the game. It seems like a cool tom-n-jerry trap system, a little like mousetrap the game. But I don't understand whether you need to aim the laser to set off that reaction, or set up the layout of the pieces?

Ben // developing Substream on Greenlight - third-person shmup choreographed to music, custom engine, procedural morphing environments.

I used Corona SDK. I choose it because you can deploy to Android and IOS "relatively" easily.
The trailer / video was supposed to create some intrigue but this is not my department :) I'll pass your feedback onto my friend the Graphics guy. Hes on holiday at the moment.