🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Unity2D

Started by
4 comments, last by kburkhart84 9 years, 7 months ago

Hello, i'm new in game dev's world..

i was focusing on 2D role-playing game, and i was using Unity. Then i played this game by ubisoft called Child of Light, and i was wondering can unity make 2D RPG game like that ? Stage, Cutscene, Intro video etc

and do Unity support C++ ?

i'm sorry for my english & my question, you see, i'm just a new comer.

Thank you for your answer

Advertisement

I'm sure Unity can make such an RPG. I looked at the trailer and don't see anything too far out of the ordinary. Now that doesn't mean it won't take some work. You would have to learn the programming for it, and the art, etc...

Unity doesn't directly support C++, rather C# is the most commonly used language with Unity, though they offer Unityscript and Boo as well. If you are interested in using Unity, I'd recommend it. But, GameMaker: Studio also has a free version. I think it too could handle most of what Child of Light does. It isn't as advanced as Unity, but it is much easier to learn. You can use a drag & drop interface for some of the scripting, but I'd say you are better off learning GML, which is a C-like language GameMaker uses for scripting. There are some things that GameMaker can't do, and if you want to deploy to mobile platforms you will have to pay for those versions. Unity on the other hand, in the free version can export to iOS and Android. The catch is that the exports are limited in some ways though not as much as people think. The other catch is that like I say, Unity is harder in general to learn than GMStudio is, and that includes the scripting language.