🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

c++ libs linking tutorial? And I'm new here!

Started by
2 comments, last by colfaxrev 8 years, 8 months ago

Hey all,

I'm new to this forum, so:

My background, in the past i've been a flash as3 programmer making games in the browser.

I have a game that is going quite well, but I felt this one deserved to be a c++ game.

So porting has begin! (flash was using Box2D, Starling, PureMVC, and some other libs)

I'm not BRAND new to c++, I've dabbled in it, but I do see that I need a much better grasp on how static vs dynamic libraries work. I'm already using and compiling successfully:

SDL2, SDL_mixer, SDL_image, SDL_ttf, Box2D

on linux and os x (xcode)
I'm having big issues trying to link the libs on windows for some reason

linux with code::blocks is my MAIN dev environment.

I'm not looking for "here's how you link it in windows", but more of a bigger picture: how does this linking work with compiler/linker stages. I've tried googling around, but maybe I just don't words to search that will bring me to the full clear answers.

I still have more libs to plug in, and want to make sure my 1 codebase can compile on windows, linux, and os x

So if anyone can share information, or links / tutorials to HOW this linker process works I'd greatly appreciate it.

(windows has compiled before, but i feel i did it in a messy way... so going back to basics to make sure i understand this before porting anything)

Thanks!

Advertisement

What searches have you tried?

Keep in mind the binary runtime process is completely different on Windows comapred with Linux and Mac OS (which, themselves are different but also very similar). Linking, in particular, works differently at the lower levels at both build and run time, so the which files are necessary is going to be different.