🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Mali OpenGL ES emulator conflict with SDL2 on linux

Started by
4 comments, last by Bregma 6 years, 11 months ago

I'm developing an android game and have been primarily using a PC build (on windows) with the Mali OpenGL ES 2.0 emulator, with a secondary Android Studio build for the devices. For various reasons I'm trying to change over to Linux, and I have Linux Mint on a new PC, and so I'm trying to get a similar PC build working under linux, however I am an absolute beginner at linux.

It seems that a sensible option might be to use SDL on linux for stuff like creating a window, keyboard input etc. I gather that SDL2 is just the most up to date version of SDL, so I have been installing that with apt-get. However, when I try and install the Mali OpenGL ES emulator from ARM, I am getting a conflict:

installed package 'libegl1-mesa-dev' conflicts with the installed package 'libgles2-mesa-dev'

I am guessing this means that both SDL2 and Mali have some egl functionality, and they are treading on each others toes? There is some mention of this in the Mali help file:

Caution: OpenGL ES Emulator can conflict with other OpenGL ES implementations if such are
installed on your system. In particular, it will conflict with libEGL.so and libGLES.so libraries
installed with libgles2-mesa, libegl1-mesa packages. The dpkg tool will refuse to install
OpenGL ES Emulator DEB package. We recommend removing these conflicting Mesa libraries
prior to installing the Emulator. If for any reason you would like to have both conflicting software
installed on your machine, you can enforce the installation by adding --force-all command
line option: