🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Input Lag on Smart Phone VR

Started by
3 comments, last by frob 6 years, 9 months ago

100% VR noob here.

In the generic VR reviews I never see any mention of input lag. I heard high input lag makes you sick.
What would be the best case scenario with Smart Phone VR;
Which smart phone and smart phone VR system would provide the lowest input lag?
How does that compare to the dedicated VR headsets?

"Take what's useful. Discard what's useless. Add what is your own." - Bruce Lee
Advertisement

Not sure specifically about the phone VR.

With the headsets people get quite angry when framerates drop below about 90 fps.  Most people don't report any motion sickness until the framerate drops below around 60, so keep that how you may.

Games always have lag between the simulation and what you experience.  At the very least you've got the buffer of what you see, the buffer of what is being drawn, and the simulation step that handles the current controller input.  Triple-buffered games add another buffer in there. Some older hardware (like the PS2) have more steps that involve yet another frame delay.

Couple it with the time it takes to physically display stuff, and the soonest a game can possibly show a visible response to a player's input is around 50 milliseconds. That's your minimum visual lag.  That is one reason audio cues are used too, since audio can usually be mixed in milliseconds after processing the update, so around 10-20 milliseconds after input.

Thanks for the reply frob.

I stumbled upon a