🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

AR Development for Android and HoloLens

Started by
2 comments, last by myieye 6 years, 4 months ago

I'm near to starting an AR project that needs to support both Android devices and the HoloLens. I'm planning a tabletop game with minimal tracked objects and likely a LeapMotion to recognize hand gestures. What SDK (or combination of SDKs) exist that support both of these devices with (as much as possible) a single codebase? 

I'm very new to Unity and game development. From my reading, it sounds like the Vuforia+Unity+Windows 10 SDK combo should do it, but it's not clear to me how much platform specific code would be involved or if I would need two entirely separate code projects.

I'd also appreciate any intuition related to:

• how these SDKs relate to each other (eg. what does Vufori add to Unity)
  • what sort of code is device specific
  • other recommendations for SDKs that support both platforms
Advertisement

I'm a VR developer working with Unreal Engine 4. I've worked with Leap Motion and Android + GearVR, and very briefly touched the hololens for a weekend at a microsoft sponsored hackathon. There's a couple problems with your intended use for hardware platforms.

1) The leap motion requires a USB connection and as far as I know, the current generation of hardware doesn't support mobile VR/AR. The next generation will be built into the HMD, but that may be a ways out.

2) Hololens already comes with gesture recognition. It's not close to as good as Leap Motion.