Advertisement

What's the best approach to create a networked multiplayer cross-platform 2D mobile game?

Started by June 04, 2019 04:32 PM
3 comments, last by PeterZ 5 years, 2 months ago

I'd like to create a networked multiplayer 2D mobile game that will work on iOS and Android. Given the wide (and confusing) array of technologies available today, and also the fact that I'm relatively new to multiplayer programming, I'd like some advice on the best approach for this. Here are the requirements:

• App should load and perform fast and have a near-native feel on both platforms
  • Players should be able to make payment to the app and set odds to compete with each other and win/lose accordingly. Also they can fund the game wallet with money, and vice versa (send money out)
  • Gameplay is multiplayer, turn-based and geolocalised such that people can compete in different regions
  • Low latency on the network and very fast and fluid performance
  • Central database for storing and managing player details and finances
  • Cross-platform deployment (one code deploy to all)
  • Simple and straightforward turn-based gameplay with simple controls and fast responsive behaviour

I'd really appreciate some help with this from experienced devs. I'd like to know what you think is the best approach (technology-wise) to achieving this, from backend, to frontend, to storage, to scalability, to performance and to game engine/library/language choice.

Thank you.

I'd recommend using something like unity to do this. It comes with support for a wide range of platforms out of the box and generally performs quite well. As i understand it, you may need to purchase some extra functionality depending on how you want to handle networking, and you may need a subscription e.g. to quantum or photon, or you might be able to roll your own with a web based backend and a database, it depends on how confident you are.