Advertisement

Complete beginner, need help with developing an engine

Started by June 05, 2019 07:44 AM
5 comments, last by slayemin 5 years, 3 months ago

I'm interested in programming a new engine for a commercial game a few talented friends and I plan to make after our next translation project is complete. It already has English graphics so there's not much to do for me for those months.

It will be a text and story heavy game, with gameplay similar to older Fire Emblems.

So I need:

-a dialogue system

-grid and turn based maps (while pixel art, should be 3D in order for it to be tilted slightly instead of having the straight top-down view, perhaps with 3D effects such as cinders flying about)

-RNG

-combat animations separate from the map (a blackout followed by a new screen)

-AI

I think those are the most major functions of the engine I want.
Is there a specific language I should do this in? Are there any pitfalls I might stumble into?

Also yes, while platforms such as SRPG studio exist, they really don't look great, and as the graphics person, I don't look forward to working with that. I have a bunch of ideas we’d need our own engine for.

(and yes I know this sounds overly ambitious)

thanks in advance!

I think when you say engine, you have a different idea of what an engine is than i do.

If you mention making an engine around here, you usually mean a renderer, entity component style system perhaps, subsystems to manage audio, gameplay scripts, etc.

What you're asking for are a set of components to add to an existing engine such as unreal engine or unity, that allow for creation of a game, plus the art work. That's a lot of stuff.