Advertisement

Where to begin

Started by September 16, 2019 09:44 PM
2 comments, last by Green_Baron 5 years ago

Hi! 

I'm posting today because I'm tired of procrastinating! It's time I get stuff done so here I am attempting to do just that. Games have been a big interest to me and the idea of making a game please me greatly. I am a C++ beginner and know very basic rules about the language. 

The game I look to create is a top down 2D space game inspired greatly by Dark Orbit and both Space Pirates and Zombies 1&2. From previous research I've broken down my individual goals and steps. I love the combat system, and would like to get it working first. 

Goals for my first step:

1.) SPaZ style Shooting

2.) Dark orbit ammo change(I. E default ammo then press a button to another ammo which changes colour) 

3.) Spawn enemies by an enemy base

4.) For this version have a default base. Kill the base win the game

5.) Default Human base which spawns allies and is your respawn point

6.) Ally and enemy A.I

With all of this said here are my questions

1.) Is godot the right engine for this project? I have started a project where I got the ship to move but can't get it to shoot. 

2.) Is my current goal list a good and realistic list to aim for as a starting point? 

3.) Do you have any tutorials to recommend? 

4.) How should I go about tackling this list? What order should I go in? 

5.) Generally how hard is it for a developer to make a 2D Space Faction sandbox game? I notice that this genre is rather uncommon among newer games and wonder if this may be the reason. 

6.) Given that I am artistically challenged I'm currently using assets, however eventually I need to get better art together. I don't know how to overcome this other than asking someone to hopefully work with me lol. Do you guys have any recommendations for this? 

Additional Info:

I'm currently working Full Time 8:30 to 17:30/18:00. I'm on leave for 2 weeks so figure this is the best time to start.