🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Advice on how to get feedback for hobbyist projects

Started by
3 comments, last by pcmaster 4 years, 5 months ago

I am a hobbyist game developer that has been working on my own projects in isolation. I am not very skilled in game design and my current project is a breakout clone.

I realized that what I really need is feedback on what I create before I can get better at creating games but I am not sure what strategies/places are best for a clueless hobbyist like myself.

I have tried play testing in the past but I am not really sure how to interpret the information I get because most of the people I have play tested with are just as clueless about game design as me. I realized I don't know enough to even determine what was good/bad because I play games but the games I play are so far away from what i am working on that I don't really know how to look at my own projects.

What would be great is to determine a way I can get feedback for my projects so I can improve. So I guess my main question is, what ways can a hobbyist game designer get feedback like this?

Advertisement

You need to watch this Extra Credits video:

You should check out more Extra Credits videos, too.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Thanks for the response Tom. I do have a followup question though that the video didn't really cover, what are some strategies to find play testers? Most of the people that I go to to play test are close friends and family and I know that they are biased so I am hoping there are methods that I can use to find play testers.

It depends on where you live, if you want to invite people physically over your place to test your game in front of you.