🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

How to protect my hobby projects if I'm gonna start working at a company?

Started by
28 comments, last by GeneralJist 3 years, 8 months ago

BACKGROUND
I have several hobby projects which contains quite a lot of code.
Most projects are just prototypes but it still contains the general idea of a game I want to code/make.
I'm a C++ programmer and have been in 4 projects that has been released to the wild before I went on a solo adventure (quit my job).

Recently though, I was thinking that I still need some funds. So I was thinking in the line of “I'll work on my hobbies at the same time as I work”.
But what I know of is that Game Making companies often times have contract such as “You cannot work on anything commercially that is on the same line of work as this company" (not exactly how they write but just example). And adding to that “We own all work you do” or something of those lines.

My projects are in Git privately, so I could show my Commit history if needed for anything (such as a lawsuit?? I don't know…)

THE QUESTION
So how do I protect my hobby projects even though it's not for commercial purposes, which I mean:
1. Company I work for cannot steal my code, even though it's coded in my free time.
2. Company cannot steal the idea I've shared (if I possibly show it in the interview or talk about it in work after I've gotten the job)

Do I need to ask for a special type of contract for this? Which I mean, ask for protection of my hobby projects?

Please redirect me to the correct forums if I did come to the wrong forums… I apologize if I did.

Advertisement

The company owns everything you did during the time you work for that company that was inspired or helped by the properties owned by that company or other people working for that company.