🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Selecting a C++ game engine

Started by
3 comments, last by cosator 4 years ago

What is the best choice for a game engine in C++? I know there are alot of choices out there, but i'm not experienced enough to know what I should be looking for, my only real requirements right now are that it's made for C++ and doesn't have a monetary restriction to personal use.

Advertisement

Unreal engine 4, it is fairly popular so can net you a job if that's what you are after eventually. Godot is a smaller engine I'd say, also C++, open source, MIT licensed (which is really a nice, permissive license) although, people tend to use GDScript like Unreal users use Blueprints, which is a better scripting language I can't comment as I haven't used the godot one but I do know blueprints compile and run fairly fast in Unreal. Just don't expect to script a heavy math-y function and have it run the same speed C++ vs blueprints. For high level control it's good.

The question is why you need the engine to be in C++? UE4 is a behemoth and hard for a single developer to change, if that's what you wanted. And if you want to learn C++ in the first place, it has it's own rules and a memory manager (garbage collector) so… might not be the best. If C++ is what you are comfortable with already and just want to use one, these are good.