🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

What depth of knowledge should a Junior Programmer possess?

Started by
4 comments, last by _WeirdCat_ 3 years, 7 months ago

I am currently a student in game programming. I am wondering how much knowledge programmers should possess for an entry-level, Junior Programmer position.

Should they have extensive experience in game programming patterns like flyweight, singleton, state machines, ECS, and other patterns? Are there some patterns that would be requirements while others are just advantageous to know?

Would a starting programmer be expected to know how to do programming in multiple areas like gameplay, UI, AI, networking, tools, etc., or would focus on a single discipline be more preferable?

What separates a junior programmer from a senior programmer? What would a senior programmer be expected to know that a junior programmer wouldn't?

I am trying to assess my skills to see what I need to focus on. Thank you for your help.

None

Advertisement

it's about experience and/or your ability to break grounds in new topics;

let's say you're in a meeting and everyone is talking about Vertex Shaders, you'll be like “oh yeah i know what this is” and u might just chip in your 2 pence;

then later on the meeting's conversation knocks door at “Entropy correlation levels with isogeometric game data”, that's when u go “eerrrm.. my mum bakes cakes, is that alright?”

… and life goes on….