🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Should I move to C++ from C#? (Advice)

Started by
5 comments, last by frob 3 years, 5 months ago

Hi, I've been an indie dev for about 4 years and I've mainly worked with C# (Unity, Monogame, GLFW through bindings) and I want to continue developing on a professional level. I'd like the chance to work at a small studio but as far as I know, most of them favor C++ unless they specifically state Unity as the engine they're working on. I've been diving into C++ and judging by complexity I'd say it would take some time before I really become used to it. I think most of the stuff in C++ can be achieved in C# up till now (other than platform specifics/drivers?). Would any professional offer some advice?

Thanks

Advertisement

Most of the stuff in C++ can be achieved in C#?

Definitely not. Have you ever dealt with the need to JIT C#? It can get nasty. Garbage collection? Satisfy no-alloc profile?

Nonetheless, if you have a solid target (if not an offer) you sure want to please them. The dice are cast already. Be sure C++ is not a thing…

Most of the companies requiring C++ I talked to are unaware C++ comes in various versions and some of them think drawing buttons in QT is the pinnacle of technical excellence.

Out of those who were aware some were still talking C++11 and would consider C++14 “modern”. I would expect C++17 to be a “modern” and viable version nowadays. I expect a gaming company to be far more proficient to this regard.

Modern C++ is basically another thing. Be sure to assimilate the core guidelines in addition to the massive language.

Consider trying it before committing. Due to the fragmentation above I would encourage you to invest at least a couple weeks in Rust.