🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

How to read files that are encrypted?

Started by
5 comments, last by SBD 3 years, 4 months ago

I need help i cant read these file. i am trying to mod a game (and i am new to modding) and i am not sure if this is some kind of encryption or the file is meant to like that. Here is a small part of a script file i opened.

¾º­?Àˆ×Ó¿!@@QQÐl? ÀQZ?Ä À @ À À À ? A?ú¡"7YYQQÐl? P?T?ä ?°5ˆ XüM XüM ? ُxâȦdƒ|•_È‡äh…! ?<¤¦‡fùU g_samu scripts/ai_samu.ddf samurai Aä?¡"7YYQQÐl? °Þ2?ä ?шÝEᇎEᇎ ? ُxâë?3?zFJ&ƒRJË?EW ?<¤¦‡fùU g_comp scripts/ai_comp.ddf computron

Advertisement

Try using 7zip to open it as it might be some sort of known archival type. I don't think your snippet is the first part of the file, which is the most important part in determining what kind of file it might be.

If that doesn't work, check here…

http://multiex.xentax.com/

and if the game isn't listed there, check the forums at that url ( http://forum.xentax.com/ ) for possible help.

Maybe you can find a mod community for that game.

🙂🙂🙂🙂🙂<←The tone posse, ready for action.

Just from the snippet you posted, I suspect this file format is neither encrypted nor compressed. The fact that there are intact full, null-terminated strings indicates to me this is probably just a custom binary file format particular to the game and/or engine.

@undefined so is there a way to know what it means, a tool or anything? And is it even possible for me to mod it if it is a binary file?

@fleabay tried opening it with winrar it wasnt an archive and the is not listed in multiex and the game doesnt have a modding community. Guess i cant mod this game :( What do u think? is it possible ?