🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Artistic "Façade" Inspired Game

Started by
3 comments, last by JoeJ 2 years, 4 months ago

I am not a game developer. But it still been a constant desire for me to develop a game that gave me the same feeling façade did when I first saw about it. It's a weird nostalgic feeling, that's present with a weird/awkard situation that the game is based off - with a simplist but a proper visual that meets it's proposal. I'm a musician and I like to risk on learning and “artting” with other things too, and game development seem to include almost everything I love to work with.

Maybe the first step is to learning which Engine they used to develop the game, download an older version of it (if possible), etc…

If you have anything that could help/or want to help directly just say, i'm waiting.

PS: never used this site before so let me know if i put that in like the wrong forum or channel or some shi

Advertisement

Really a good question.

Imagine you go into the room, there's a bunch of kids. They're popping the eyes out of a plastic dinosaur toy, and replace with a laser pointer. ‘Yeah, looks cool! Warp it in tinfoil, so it looks like robot skin. And replace He-Man with Sheena riding it - she looks hot!’ - ‘Ok, but i’ll paint one of her arms black, the other yellow, so she's properly varied. And i'll hold the hairspray beneath the dino mouth and the lighter, so it looks like spitting fire! Prepare the iPhone - ready to take a photo?' - ‘Yes, looks awesome!’
And you pull out a Van Gogh print and show it to them. ‘Hey kids, can you tell me how to paint this myself?’ The kids stare at the painting. Their jaws drop slowly, their gaze freezes. Clueless and shocked, not even noticing their hands start catching fire. No response.

That's what you've just done :D