🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Creating a custom stack allocator for game engine

Started by
20 comments, last by JoshuaManton 1 year, 10 months ago

I'm currently reading through Game Engine Architecture Vol. 3 by Jason Gregory, and I've gotten to the section of memory management. I want to try and implement the custom stack allocator, but doesn't give any implementation details, and I'm not sure how to implement it. I would say I'm a beginner C++ programmer, so I know there's a lot I haven't learned yet. Where are some good places to go to learn more about C++ memory management?

Advertisement

That's because the book is aimed for experienced programmers so it only shows an overview how the dependencies work rather than the details.

Fortunately this forum has an article posted about custom memory allocators, including the stack allocator you asked for: https://www.gamedev.net/tutorials/programming/general-and-gameplay-programming/c-custom-memory-allocation-r3010/

I used this to get an idea of how memory management could work: https://blog.molecular-matters.com/2011/07/05/memory-system-part-1/

Worked on titles: CMR:DiRT2, DiRT 3, DiRT: Showdown, GRID 2, theHunter, theHunter: Primal, Mad Max, Watch Dogs: Legion

{moderator hat on} I've hidden several completely unrelated posts talking about Unity. {moderator hat off}

Both of those links are good references. It is common for games to implement custom allocators, but they're tricky to get right for beginners. Alignment issues, dealing with holes and fragmentation, dealing with leaks and overruns and tracking, dealing with multithreaded race conditions and reentrant conditions, they're all beyond where I would put typical beginner topics.