🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

How to get first completed project (indie game) on portfolio fast?

Started by
3 comments, last by Alberth 3 weeks, 2 days ago

I'm new to game development. I have been learning Unity and Blender for the past 2 months.

I want to have a future career in game development. I've heard that having a completed project on your resume is good. Now, I've also heard that creating a good indie game takes years.

This year I'm quite busy, so i'm wondering, what if for my first game, I don't focus on creating a fun game, but I just focus on executing the typical indie game dev steps (i.e implementing the mechanics, art and music, and releasing it). And the end goal would be that I can say in my resume "Created and released game X on itch.io and steam...".

Can I do this in a month? Are there any pitfalls I should be aware of as a newcomer?

Advertisement

silenceDogood said:
I've heard that having a completed project on your resume is good. Now, I've also heard that creating a good indie game takes years.

Seems like you're going about it backwards. You're supposed to be telling what you have actually done, not trying to pad it with what you think they might want.

That said, you can follow tutorials and churn out basic games based on the tutorials. Even a tiny amount of digging and questioning by your potential employer should sus those details out, either exposing you as having no clue or disclosing that you do in fact happen to know what you're claiming.