🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

New to game design

Started by
6 comments, last by JohnTheRipper88 4 years, 9 months ago

Hi i am new to all this and i am just getting started in game design degree from full sail university, i will admit i do not know much about computers and stuff but i am more then willing to learn i am hoping to find a mentor to help me through this . I have been told in the past that i have some great ideas on games and that i am really good at looking at the detail in games and finding things that are wrong with them or things that could be added so i decided to go forth and get my degree. I am a shy person when it comes to talking to others but once i open up i am more then willing to learn from the best. Thank you all for reading this and i hope to hear from someone soon until then have a great day.

Advertisement
13 minutes ago, Frostbite2927 said:

i hope to hear from someone soon

What kind of thing are you hoping to hear? 

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

I am new to using these kind of sites and not sure how to go about doing things. I would like to know more about game design besides what my school is teaching me. I have always been interested in the field of making game but have been to scared to reach out and learn until now

3 hours ago, Frostbite2927 said:

I would like to know more about game design besides what my school is teaching me.

So you are interested in design, rather than programming or graphics or audio or marketing or management. Go ahead, ask your questions. A lot of them are answered on my site. Nothing to be afraid of here. Reach out and ask your questions. 

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

It is hard to know what exactly you are looking for without knowing what your schooling has shown you so far and what you are interested in specifically.