🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Software suggestions needed for Final Fantasy Tactics like project.

Started by
1 comment, last by Tom Sloper 4 years, 9 months ago

I am relatively new to game design. There is a project I'm starting that I've been dreaming of making for years. As a writer, I've done a LOT of plot and world building, and concept art. Its my baby. lol     The only thing left is to start putting it together. I know its not going to be anything amazing, but I'm really excited to tell my story this way. So many more ways to show my world and characters than words on a page can convey.

It will be an RPG that has a style that is very similar to Final Fantasy Tactics. It carries strong themes of companionship, loneliness, trust and loss. For game play I would love to have a turn based strategy combat system like FFT, or Xcom. That turn based chess board style would be perfect for many reasons, but I may go with traditional RPG turn based combat if I have to. With a few twists of course. As I'm not very experienced yet and my focus for this game is the story and characters.

My questions. If you were making a game like Final Fantasy Tactics, what software would you want to use? Where do I start? I've used Game Maker Studio 2 up till now on other projects while I'm practicing and learning. But I don't know if it could make something like Final Fantasy Tactics.